Monday, January 31, 2011
Beyond Frustrated
I am so unsure of what to do. I am not losing any weight at all. No matter how hard I exercise or no matter what I eat. It is getting harder for me to get up every morning and exercise. I am not seeing any results and I want to just quit. It really seems pointless. The only thing that motivates me is to see results. I change up my exercise avery day and every week. I cut back on sweets and my eating. I am really finding it hard to motivate myself. It all seems like such a waste. I am open for suggestions. No, I will not use a tapeworm! I just don't know what to do anymore.
Sunday, January 30, 2011
The tape worm!
Well the tape worm has been eating my food but there is a problem. The tape worm is getting fat so he went on a diet! I am pretty mad. George (The tape worm) and I had a huge fight the other day about who was going to eat the dozen cookies I had. He said he would eat half but when I had eaten all of them he said he had crossed his fingers and would not take his share. I didn't know tape worms had fingers;)
One question.....If we lose the same weight three times in a row can we count it three times towards our total weight loss?
One question.....If we lose the same weight three times in a row can we count it three times towards our total weight loss?
My exercise plan
Well I made a plan to start running and to run a 5K in 12 weeks. It might happen before then but I wanted to make it as reasonable and attainable as possible. My reward is to spend the weekend in SLC with my sisters and sister-in-laws so whoever can join in is welcome. I wanted to do that anyway before we move but now it can be a motivator. I really appreciated your comments in my last post, Jami, I think that it is a more realistic plan than just losing 20 lbs. Although, I hope that that happens at the same time! We are working on the kitchen right now and my oven was moved downstairs yesterday to make room for new cabinets. So anyways, it is really tricky to cook right now so I have to be extra vigilant in my meal planning. I need easy but healthy meals. On the bright side, we have all of our cabinets which we will be installing and finishing up the kitchen in the next 2 weeks! Having a functioning kitchen will drastically improve my desire to cook at all. I hope that you are all doing well and I will let you all know how the week goes. Love you!
Thursday, January 27, 2011
ZUMBA
Last night for mutual we had a Zumba instructor come and teach Zumba. It was so awesome. It was so awesome that I can't really move. It was so fun to try something new. My weight loss is still the same. I fluctuate between 3 pounds. I just can't break that. I feel good and I am losing inches. I was telling Taylor last night that I think my weight reproportions throughout my body. I hope it doesn't go to my ankles because then I would have cankles. Anyway, I am trying to stay motivated nonetheless. I hurt my ankle yesterday so it hurts when I exercise so I am trying to be careful. Just so all of you know Taylor did really great on his test from Dougway but they don't hire this far out so he has to call back in March. Hopefully, they have openings then! I wish everyone the best of luck in their weight loss.
I am so proud of you all
Everyone is doing such a great job! I appreciate all of your encouragement. I need it. I need to keep refocusing on why I am trying to lose weight. I was going to start exercising but then I started to feel a little sick and no this was not in my mind. I love you all!! Keep up the great work. Think Thin!!
Wednesday, January 26, 2011
I am motivated!
I have been taking this wellness class that has us sign a behavior change contract where we change a health behavior. You set a measurable goal and break it into smaller goals and pick rewards for the accomplishment of each small goal and the end goal. I am trying to decide if it should be to lose 20 lbs. in 12 weeks or run a 5K in 12 weeks. I know that a 5K doesn't sound like much to you marathon runners but that would be huge for me since I am not a runner. I am a fast walker! ;) I am also way out of shape so that would be good for me to work towards. I would probably lose the weight by working out so much and it would be a pretty specific goal. My eating habits aren't really the issue for me, it is the exercise that I can't seem to do. I will let you know what I decide because I need to figure it out this weekend. My weight is at a standstill right now so I know that I need to kick it into high gear now. I hope that you are all doing great!
Tuesday, January 25, 2011
We Are Finally Dialed In
Hello Family! Shirye and I have begun our journey to a new lifestyle. We are excited to do this with the rest of the family and see our lives change. Good job to everyone on their weight loss so far. It was so good to see all of you and spend some time together. I miss you tons already. Shirye and I are doing the HCG Diet. If any of you haven't heard of it it is a low calorie diet that you take with HCG drops. The HCG allows your body to focus on the fat in your body for the extra calories it needs. We are already seeing results. Shirye has lost 10 lbs and I have lost 11 as of Monday. We look forward to reaching our goals. Have a great week!
Monday, January 24, 2011
The cleansing diet
I don't know if it is all because of the cleansing diet that I have been on since Thursday, or if I really did lose two natural pounds. Either way, I did lose another 2 # this week. I went shopping with Jessica over the weekend. It was really fun to fit into things that I thought were cute, in the sizes I wanted. It was great motivation to keep going. I hope that once this nasty stuff leaves my body that I can hit it hard. I have a goal that over the next 6 days, to run a marathon. I was inspired by this last weeks biggest loser. I am going to write my goal weight for the week down every where so I can see it on the scale next week. Thanks for all of your encouragement. Keep up the good work.
Saturday, January 22, 2011
Not a great week
Well, this week has not been the greatest. I haven't lost anymore weight but I haven't gained any weight. I have had too many instances of cheating and lack of planning has been my downfall. I am getting back into school and I hope that my Abnormal Psychology class will help me discover my disorder so that I will quit stress eating. jk Actually my classes have been very interesting so far and my other class, Promoting Wellness, requires us to change a health behavior this semester which will be a bonus for me. Scott has been having the same problem. He has been binge eating everything he is not supposed to and he hasn't lost anything this week. Hopefully we can get it together this week and take control of our eating. I hate to go backwards from my progress. Good luck to everyone else! Congratulations on passing your test and landing the job, Michael!
Michael Fat man Tolman
Well I have been gaining weight this week. It was quite dissapointing. I did have some good news this week. I passed my test that I have been studying for about 3 months. It also looks like I might have landed over 20 million dollars of work for my company I work for. I was traveling and I ate out and I couldn't exercise when I wanted to or for very long. I love you all and keep up the good work.
Thursday, January 20, 2011
Mom's Message
It is with pleasure that I finally write to all of you. You are such a great family and I am proud of all of you. It is hard to add in one more thing, such as a weight loss program in the midst of your busy lives, but you are doing it! Way to go family. We're all in this together to help and encourage one another. Since we started on January 3rd, I have lost 10 pounds. The first week was the best at a 7 # loss. The 2nd week was 2 # and now in the 3rd week I have lost 1 # so far. It was hard to stay focused with company here but it was worth it to see Chris and Hayden, Amy and Jessica and our local families. We had a great time. One thing I try to do when on a weight loss program is to not eat out anywhere. It is just easier to stay at home and control what I eat. The 2nd thing I do is to plan ahead so that I don't get to meal time and have nothing to eat. Good Luck and God Bless all of you. Mom
Wednesday, January 19, 2011
This is the reason I look the way I do
Today I realized why I look the way I do. Kaitlyn cried for two nights staight do to the antibiotics she is taking fo an ear infection which made one ear look better and the other one worse, so I asked my self is it worth it.I literally got 2 hours of uninterupted sleep. So we scheduled her for ear tubes for Monday and stopped the antibiotics. I went to bed feeling hopefgul for a good nights sleep.
I was in bed for 5 minutes when she started crying, 45 monutes later Nathan started throwing up. He threw up every 15-30 minutes for the next 12 hours. Between he and Kate I lilterally did not sleep once again making it 3 nights with out sleep.
I made myself a big batch of cookies, because I deserved them right? Why not? I can't sleep with 4 small kids, so I try to fill that need with COOKIES. I didn't have energy for exercise.
I was spending all energy scrubbing carpets and washing, washing, washing laundry. A two year old doesn't know where the right place is to throw up. I just laughed when Jenna walked in from school and said, "Mom you are going to be mad. There was a large puddle. I didn't expect it to be muddy." Her pretty nice white tights looked like a dalmation had adopted her legs. I told her just to add them to the pile.
Good thing there is slways tomorrow to hope that things will go better. There is lots of distractions and thats why Ilook the way I do.
I was in bed for 5 minutes when she started crying, 45 monutes later Nathan started throwing up. He threw up every 15-30 minutes for the next 12 hours. Between he and Kate I lilterally did not sleep once again making it 3 nights with out sleep.
I made myself a big batch of cookies, because I deserved them right? Why not? I can't sleep with 4 small kids, so I try to fill that need with COOKIES. I didn't have energy for exercise.
I was spending all energy scrubbing carpets and washing, washing, washing laundry. A two year old doesn't know where the right place is to throw up. I just laughed when Jenna walked in from school and said, "Mom you are going to be mad. There was a large puddle. I didn't expect it to be muddy." Her pretty nice white tights looked like a dalmation had adopted her legs. I told her just to add them to the pile.
Good thing there is slways tomorrow to hope that things will go better. There is lots of distractions and thats why Ilook the way I do.
Tuesday, January 18, 2011
Frustrated
I am really frustrated! I have been working out like crazy, eating right, drinking lots of water and cutting way back on sweets. I gained .8 this week. It is very difficult for me to be motivated when I don't see results. I feel good but sometimes I need more. I would love some suggestions. Taylor lost five pounds with out really doing anything. Sometimes life isn't fair. I just want to be healthy and lose this weight.
Monday, January 17, 2011
Slow and Steady
Slow and steady is what I am. I am down 5 # as of today. I figure if I consistantly lose 2-2.5 # per week that I will be real close to my goal of 30# by the end of this challenge. I am not out to win it, however, I am out to lose this weight and be healthy. Never again will I have to lose it again. At least not the baby weight.
Michael is down a total of 13 # as of today. He is doing great and helping motivate his wife. I was about to throw in the towel, but had a talk with myself and am determined now. I may even try the blessed Diet Center diet. We shall see. We love this blog and our kids even look forward to all of your posts. Good luck to you all this week.
Michael is down a total of 13 # as of today. He is doing great and helping motivate his wife. I was about to throw in the towel, but had a talk with myself and am determined now. I may even try the blessed Diet Center diet. We shall see. We love this blog and our kids even look forward to all of your posts. Good luck to you all this week.
Sunday, January 16, 2011
I am finally a member
Well this is Amy and I helped Mom become a member of the Tolman Tubbies. We are so glad she has joined us. She did great last week!
Friday, January 14, 2011
Big Day for Me
Today I reached 222 pounds, that is 30 pounds less than I was this time a month ago !!! It is also 16 lbs less than my starting wieght for this family project. I cant express how happy I am with my progress right now. I did my first workout at the gym this week and I just about puked - 7 miles on the stationary bike and 1/2 mile on the hand bike. I'm sure it will be getting more difficult in the coming weeks and I will have to work harder to make progress so now's the time to catch up with me if you if you are not already kickin my backside. 180 here I come....
Wednesday, January 12, 2011
Donuts!
Today someone brought in donuts to work. I love sweets eapecially warm, fresh ones. Like Arthur on the biggest loser I was tempted but I did not eat them. It was tough-really tough. I tried justifying any way I could but I didn't give in. Last night on the Biggest Loser I was yelling at the TV at Arthur not to take a bite of the donut. I was so glad he put it in the trash. I hope you all can fight your temptations too! Just throw it in the trash or step on it. Good luck to all!
Monday, January 10, 2011
Weigh In Day
Barnes Family Report:
Scott lost 12 lbs. just with diet and he starts exercising in the morning. I lost 4 lbs. just with diet and a little exercise. I'm coming up on the 5th day of being sick so some of that weight loss is due to illness and not eating. I have cut out sweets and decreased my portions so that is probably a huge difference. It sounds like everyone is doing great and I'm glad John's tapeworms are working! ha ha ha! I made an awesome Chicken Tortilla Soup for dinner that only Brigham ate with me so I guess I will be eating that for the rest of the week. Yum! Love you guys!
Scott lost 12 lbs. just with diet and he starts exercising in the morning. I lost 4 lbs. just with diet and a little exercise. I'm coming up on the 5th day of being sick so some of that weight loss is due to illness and not eating. I have cut out sweets and decreased my portions so that is probably a huge difference. It sounds like everyone is doing great and I'm glad John's tapeworms are working! ha ha ha! I made an awesome Chicken Tortilla Soup for dinner that only Brigham ate with me so I guess I will be eating that for the rest of the week. Yum! Love you guys!
Michael Tolman family
Jami has been sick all week so she only lost 2.8 lbs on diet control, but no exercise. I found a great love for cookies this weekend and stunted my weight loss at 9 lbs. This will be the easiest 9 lbs to lose for me. I have just lost the Christmas and New Years weight. Before that I had hit a plateau. I am hoping that the new eliptical will help push through it. Since June I have lost a total of 30lbs. Good luck everone this week. We may see you this weekend depending on how we feel and the roads. Love Michael
Weigh In Day
I hope everyone had a chance to weigh in today. I know that I am not the biggest loser. I lost .2 but I know why I only lost this much. I have refocused and put my game face on. So just wait till next week comes. I hope all of you had positive results. Love you All!!
Saturday, January 8, 2011
Prepare to be Amazed
I am trying to keep positive. I haven't had the best week but I am going to continue to stay focused. I plan to do the 8 weeks to a better you also. I love this program (thanks Jami). It was great to see everyone posting on the blog. It makes me really excited. I am going to make my menu today and go grocercy shopping so hopefully that will help me stay away from the treats. Lisa I am saddened by the loss of your mole. It meant so much to so many people. You shoud ask them if you can have it back so we can have a funeral for it and bury it in mom and dads back yard. I wish mom good luck on the diet center diet (yuck!). I love you all!
John I think tape worms are against the bi-laws of the family biggest loser, but if you must you must. Just don't put them in your lake after you are done with them!!
As with Jami and Shelly the Biggest Loser this week inspired me also. Think thin!!
John I think tape worms are against the bi-laws of the family biggest loser, but if you must you must. Just don't put them in your lake after you are done with them!!
As with Jami and Shelly the Biggest Loser this week inspired me also. Think thin!!
Biggest Winner!!!
Hi everybody!! I was just wondering if I gain the most weight does that make me the biggest winner or just a plain loser? I have fallen behind but you are all in for a scare. My tape worms just came in the mail and it says in the guarantee that I will lose at least half my body weight. I am so excited!!! I will miss the muscle but at least it will get rid of the fat. Prepare to get wasted!!!
Love Johnboy ;)
Love Johnboy ;)
Friday, January 7, 2011
I am so mad
Lisa I can't believe you would get rid of that mole without consulting Scott or I. Did you save in a jar like moms lumps they took off moms melon when we were younger. Can I pet it still. Speaking of my mother. I heard she is eating deer steak and mustard or wassa bread. Gross!!! I heard she was on the diet center diet. I also heard you lost 6 lbs. You are beating me right now, but not for long. If I did my math right You have 3.5% lost to date. I am only at 2.87. I am also in a contest with my boss on losing weight. I will be $25 dollars richer if I can keep on losing. I am glad to hear that Scott is losing weight. I don't really care if I win this weight loss deal, but I hope we can all lose the weight and keep it off. I am going to give all of you the very best I have to lose the weight. If would be cool if we all could lose more weight than the Harpers who are also doing some form of the Biggest Loser. I love you all and when you are sleeping, I will be working out. When you are eating, I will be working out. When your in the bathroom taking care of business. I will be in my bathroom taking care of business. Love Michael
It's gone?!?!
Congratulations Lisa on your loss! I, like Jami, will have to break the news lightly to Scott. Ha ha! I am so sick right now with this horrible sore throat that I don't want to eat anything. I will probably lose some weight but not in a healthy way. Oh well. Scott is losing weight like crazy. It's so awesome! I have never seen him so motivated to be healthy and lose weight. It definitely helps to have that support in your own home. Also, it is so helpful to know that you all are going through the same thing. Keep up the good work!
Thursday, January 6, 2011
We are saddened for your loss
Lisa, What made you decide to let it go? It probably is weird to not have Michael's friend hanging out with you any more. I will break the news lightly to him. I am glad you are doing the 8 week challenge as well. It really does work. I have a really bad sinus infection, so I haven't been able to hit this thing as hard as I would like yet, but reading other's reports definantly is inspiring. I am glad to hear that Taylor is joining in as well. Chris and Shirye are too. It is great to have the strenghth we gain from others. Keep reporting.
Noticable Difference
Well, I lost a little weight this morning. The amount is not much to talk about but my face will be noticably difference. I know Michael and Scott will be saddened that they can't pet my mole but it was shaved off today. There is a 20% chance that it could grow back but hopefully it doesn't. They sent it off to make sure it wasn't cancerous which he was pretty sure it wasn't. As far as actual weight loss I am feeling good. I am doing the "Eight weeks to a better you" which I love! Thanks Jami for giving it to me. I am cutting down portion sizes and unhealthy treats and snacks. I am feeling really great. Taylor is going to do the Biggest Loser as well. His plan is to workout 4 times a week, cut back on portions and soda. Here's to a healthy New Year!
Wednesday, January 5, 2011
We Have Begun
Michael and I started Monday as well. I like Shelly, gained alot of inspiration from watching the Biggest Loser Last night as well. I am excited to lose this weight that keeps haunting me. I have a plan to follow the "8 weeks to a better You", with a few modifications and excercise that best I can. I know that that works for me. Good Luck every one!!
Tuesday, January 4, 2011
Hi everyone!
Well, Scott and I started yesterday and we are both doing really well. I plan on staying on a 1400 calorie diet of fresh, whole foods and working out at ISU at least 5 times a week. I did fall off the wagon at the movie theater last night when I had some caramel popcorn but other than that I am doing well. How is everyone else doing? The Biggest Loser tonight inspired me to be healthy and not let myself get to that point. Good luck everyone!
It works!
Amy invited me to be a contributer and it worked. I am interested to know who is all doing the Biggest Loser and what their plan is. "If you fail to plan then you plan to fail." I sure don't want anyone to fail.
Weigh In Time
Well hopefully you have all weighed in on Monday. I had to weigh in today because my scale was at work. I received an e-mail from Lisa telling me how to include all of you so you put your own posts on the blog. I will work on doing that tonight. I hope everyone received my e-mail. Well think thin and enjoy the journey.
Sunday, January 2, 2011
Let the game begin
Well on January 3rd we will start the Tolman Family Biggest Loser! This will be a new an exciting adventure. We do not know the outcome, but hopefully we can change the name of our blog from Tolman Tubbies to the Tolman Sticks or something like that. We hope this blog will be lots of fun and we encourage you all to join our blog. Lots of love! Think thin...
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)